The Eleanor McCollum Competition

  • Share to Twitter
  • Share to Facebook
  • Send to friend

HGO’s Eleanor McCollum Competition and the Concert of Arias is both a beloved social event in Houston and a major date on the calendar of young singers across the US and abroad. Named for the late Eleanor Searle Whitney McCollum (1908 –2002), a patroness of the arts and medical organizations in Houston and benefactor of the HGO Studio, the competition celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2013. It commences in August each year with an online application process. Several hundred singers are selected and invited to preliminary auditions in cities across the US during November and December. Semi-finals and finals are held in Houston in late January and early February each year, culminating in a major gala, the Concert of Arias. Winning the competition does not guarantee a spot in the HGO Studio, and singers do not have to participate in the competition to be invited to the Studio, but the competition is nonetheless a crucial recruitment tool for the HGO Studio.

Past winners of the Eleanor McCollum Competition are listed below.

Year First Place Second Place Third Place Audience Choice Ana Maria Martínez Encouragement Award
1989 Eric Perkins No other winners No other winners    
1990 Mark Oswald Bradley Garvin
Jennifer Jones
Roy Cornelius
No third place winner:
3-way tie for second place     
1991 Patricia S. Johnson Arturo Valencia Kelly Anderson    
1992 Mary Dunleavy Yvonne Gonzales Anita Krause    
1993 Margaret Lattimore Zheng Cao Olga Makarina    
1994 Ana María Martínez Alicia Berneche Stephanie Blythe    
1995 Helen Todd Gabriel González Juárez      Nicole Heaston Nicole Heaston  
1996 Monique McDonald Joyce DiDonato Misha Royzen Arturo Rodriguez  
1997 Karen Henrikson Alfred Walker III Jennifer Davison
Tiffany Jackson
Tiffany Jackson  
1998 Chen-Ye Yuan Alexandra Deshorties Troy Cook Chen-Ye Yuan  
1999 Michael Maniaci Kyle Ketelsen Twyla Robinson Kyle Ketelsen  
2000 Barbara Quintiliani Joshua Winograde Anna Christy Anna Christy  
2001 Janette Zilioli Kristine Winkler Katherine Rohrer Janette Zilioli  
2002 Laquita Mitchell Marjorie Owens Nicholas Phan Laquita Mitchell  
2003 Arturo Chacón-Cruz Jennifer Black Jennifer Root Arturo Chacón-Cruz  
2004 Heidi Stober Alexander Tall Kyle Albertson
Corey Bix
Alexander Tall  
2005 Tamara Wilson Jordan Bisch Ryan McKinny Liam Bonner  
2006 Maria Markina Alicia Gianni Cortez Mitchell Alicia Gianni  
2007 Faith Sherman James J. Kee Jamie Barton James J. Kee  
2008 Caitlin Lynch Joélle Harvey Octavio Moreno Caitlin Lynch  
2009 Rachel Willis-Sørensen      Catherine Martin Michael Sumuel
Jung Nan Yoon
Nathaniel Peake  
2010 Anthony Roth Costanzo Devon Guthrie Boris Dyakov Anthony Roth Costanzo  
2011 Mark Diamond Thomas Florio Lauren Snouffer Adam Lau  
2012 Andrea Carroll Natalya Romaniw Peixin Chen Andrea Carroll  
2013  Thomas Richards  Sydney Mancasola Sarah Larsen Sydney Mancasola  
2014 D'Ana Lombard Amanda Woodbury Sofia Selowsky Amanda Woodbury  
2015 Mane Galoyan Chris Bozeka Federico De Michelis Yongzhao Yu Yongzhao Yu

United Airlines is the official airline of
Houston Grand Opera and Concert of Arias.