Support HGO Studio

  • Share to Twitter
  • Share to Facebook
  • Send to friend

Opportunities exist to underwrite Studio artist, faculty and leadership positions. 

For more information, please contact Jennifer Wijangco at 713-546-0704.

Founded in 1977 by composer Carlisle Floyd and HGO's then-General Director David Gockley, the mission of the HGO Studio is to provide comprehensive career development to young artists who have demonstrated potential to make major contributions to the field of opera. The Studio's goal is to develop well-rounded professionals by providing the highest quality training combined with a wide range of performance opportunities.

The HGO Studio has become one of the most highly recognized and respected young artist programs in the world. The program’s purpose—investing in exceptional talent to develop extraordinary artists—has been validated by the achievements of our illustrious alumni in opera houses all over the world. One of the HGO Studio’s strengths is its integration with the company as a whole and the opportunities it offers young artists to work and train alongside established and experienced artists, such as  Joyce DiDonato, Heidi Stober, Dimitri Pittas, Ailyn Pèrez, Liudmyla Monastyrska, Tamara Wilson, and Ryan McKinny as well as renowned conductors, directors, and designers.

The best talent of the next generation of opera stars will have the finest training available anywhere, and Houston audiences will see them as they mature into greatness.

For a list of HGO Studio events, click here.

The activities of the Houston Grand Opera Studio are supported in part by the following generous donors and funds within the Houston Grand Opera Endowment, Inc.:


Mr. and Mrs. Philip A. Bahr
Dr. Saúl and Ursula Balagura
Michelle Beale and Dick Anderson
Bill and Melinda Brunger
Albert and Anne Chao
Mr. and Mrs. James W. Crownover
The Evans Family
Lynn and Henry Gissel
Dr. Ellen R. Gritz and Milton D. Rosenau Jr.
Nancy and Ted Haywood
Ms. Marianne Kah 
Stephanie Larsen
Marcheta Leighton-Beasley
Carolyn J. Levy
Beth Madison
Frances Marzio
Marsha Montemayor
Kathleen Moore and Steven Homer
Mr. and Mrs. Charles G. Nickson
Jill and Allyn Risley
Harlan and Dian Stai
John G. Turner and Jerry G. Fischer
Mr. and Mrs. Albert B. Alkek Endowed Fund
James J. Drach Endowment Fund
Mr. and Mrs. James A. Elkins Jr. Endowed Fund
Audrey Jones Beck Endowed Fund
John M. O’Quinn Foundation Endowed Fund
Frosch International Travel
Mr. Jackson D. Hicks
Jerry and Sharyn Metcalf
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Reynolds
The Gordon and Mary Cain Foundation Endowment Fund
Thomas Capshaw Endowment Fund
Carol Lynn Lay Fletcher Endowment Fund
William Randolph Hearst Endowed Scholarship Fund
Charlotte Howe Memorial Scholarship Fund
Elva Lobit Opera Endowment Fund
Marian and Speros Martel Foundation Endowment Fund
Erin Gregory Neale Endowment Fund
Shell Lubricants (formerly Pennzoil-Quaker State Company) Fund
Mary C. Gayler Snook Endowment Fund
Tenneco, Inc. Endowment Fund