Competition History
  • The Eleanor McCollum Competition History

    HGO’s Eleanor McCollum Competition and the Concert of Arias is both a beloved social event in Houston and a major date on the calendar of young singers across the US and abroad. Named for the late Eleanor Searle Whitney McCollum (1908 –2002), a patroness of the arts and medical organizations in Houston and benefactor of the HGO Studio, the competition celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2013. It commences in August each year with an online application process. Several hundred singers are selected and invited to preliminary auditions in cities across the US during November and December. Semi-finals and finals are held in Houston in late January and early February each year, culminating in a major gala, the Concert of Arias. Winning the competition does not guarantee a spot in the HGO Studio, and singers do not have to participate in the competition to be invited to the Studio, but the competition is nonetheless a crucial recruitment tool for the HGO Studio. 

    Past winners of the Eleanor McCollum Competition are listed here.

    Year      First Place      Second Place      Third Place      Audience Choice     Ana Maria Martínez Encouragement Award
    1989 Eric Perkins No other winners No other winners    
    1990 Mark Oswald Bradley Garvin
    Jennifer Jones
    Roy Cornelius
    No third place winner:
    3-way tie for second place     
    1991 Patricia S. Johnson Arturo Valencia Kelly Anderson    
    1992 Mary Dunleavy Yvonne Gonzales Anita Krause    
    1993 Margaret Lattimore Zheng Cao Olga Makarina    
    1994 Ana María Martínez Alicia Berneche Stephanie Blythe    
    1995 Helen Todd Gabriel González Juárez      Nicole Heaston Nicole Heaston  
    1996 Monique McDonald Joyce DiDonato Misha Royzen Arturo Rodriguez  
    1997 Karen Henrikson Alfred Walker III Jennifer Davison
    Tiffany Jackson
    Tiffany Jackson  
    1998 Chen-Ye Yuan Alexandra Deshorties Troy Cook Chen-Ye Yuan  
    1999 Michael Maniaci Kyle Ketelsen Twyla Robinson Kyle Ketelsen  
    2000 Barbara Quintiliani Joshua Winograde Anna Christy Anna Christy  
    2001 Janette Zilioli Kristine Winkler Katherine Rohrer Janette Zilioli  
    2002 Laquita Mitchell Marjorie Owens Nicholas Phan Laquita Mitchell  
    2003 Arturo Chacón-Cruz Jennifer Black Jennifer Root Arturo Chacón-Cruz  
    2004 Heidi Stober Alexander Tall Kyle Albertson
    Corey Bix
    Alexander Tall  
    2005 Tamara Wilson Jordan Bisch Ryan McKinny Liam Bonner  
    2006 Maria Markina Alicia Gianni Cortez Mitchell Alicia Gianni  
    2007 Faith Sherman James J. Kee Jamie Barton James J. Kee  
    2008 Caitlin Lynch Joélle Harvey Octavio Moreno Caitlin Lynch  
    2009 Rachel Willis-Sørensen      Catherine Martin Michael Sumuel
    Jung Nan Yoon
    Nathaniel Peake  
    2010 Anthony Roth Costanzo Devon Guthrie Boris Dyakov Anthony Roth Costanzo  
    2011 Mark Diamond Thomas Florio Lauren Snouffer Adam Lau  
    2012 Andrea Carroll Natalya Romaniw Peixin Chen Andrea Carroll  
    2013  Thomas Richards  Sydney Mancasola Sarah Larsen Sydney Mancasola  
    2014 D'Ana Lombard Amanda Woodbury Sofia Selowsky Amanda Woodbury  
    2015 Mane Galoyan Chris Bozeka Federico De Michelis Yongzhao Yu Yongzhao Yu

    United Airlines is the official airline of Houston Grand Opera and Concert of Arias.




30 3112345
Studio Showcase
September 10, 2015
8:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Studio Showcase
September 12, 2015
8:00 PM
Buy Tickets
O Columbia
September 23, 2015
8:00 PM
Learn More
O Columbia
September 24, 2015
8:00 PM
Learn More

Join our e-mail list and stay up-to-date on events and news Join our e-mail list
Follow Us